On Friday, February 24th during NBA All-Star Festivities, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announced 12 Finalists for 2012 Election and out of those 12; three have Southeastern Conference ties. Those three provide a touch of class for the SEC and include; Rick Pitino, Katrina McClain, and Bernard King.  The rest of the finalist for the hall are; Don Nelson, Reggie Miller, Bill Fitch, Maurice Cheeks, Dick Motta, Hank Nichols, Ralph Sampson, Jamaal Wilkes and the All American Red Heads.

The fate for the three will be announced on Monday, April 2 in a press conference in New Orleans, LA during the NCAA’s Men’s Final Four. Each finalist must obtain 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Hopefully the 2012 class will include both of the former SEC players and the former Kentucky Coach.

Let’s dive in and take a look at the three finalists with SEC ties.