It's official folks! Hockey is back!

The Islanders have announced their final 23 man roster for the upcoming season which starts Friday in New Jersey.

At the forward position we have:

#12 Josh Bailey

#96 Pierre-Marc Bouchard

#36 Eric Boulton

#53 Casey Cizikas

#40 Michael Grabner

#17 Matt Martin

#13 Colin McDonald

#26 Matt Moulson

#29 Brock Nelson

#51 Frans Nielsen

#21 Kyle Okposo

#16 Peter Regin

# 91 and the Captain John Tavares


#7 Matt Carkner

#46 Matt Donovan

#3 Travis Hamonic

#14 Thomas Hickey

#47 Andrew MacDonald

#8 Griffin Reinhart

#37 Brian Strait

#11 Lubomir Visnovsky


#20 Evgeni Nabokov

# 60 Kevin Poulin

There you have it folks! Your 2013-14 New York Islanders! 

The most notable names to make the team are defenseman Griffin Reinheart, Matt Donovan and forward Brock Nelson.  All three of them have had impressive training camps and it will be fun to watch them on the ice.

The fact that Hamonic is listed on the roster and not on Injured Reserve is definitely good news.  However, as I write this Arthur Staple of Newsday tweets that he is still yet to be evaluated.

The lone player on Injured Reserve is Cal Clutterbuck and when he comes back towards the end of October he will be an instant fan favorite. See my interview with him.

To view the full roster click here.

Lets go Islanders!