- The NHL was founded in 1917 including the following teams: the Montreal Canadiens, the Montreal Wanderers, the Ottawa Senators and the Toronto Arenas.

- The Boston Bruins were the first American team to be admitted to the NHL in 1924.

- Before being called the Redwings, Detroit came into the NHL as the Cougars and changed their name to the Falcons. They were named the Redwings in 1932.

- In 1942, the Brooklyn Americans folded to make the NHL a SIX TEAM LEAGUE, creating what is now commonly referred to as the ORIGINAL SIX.

- The next expansion came 25 years later when the NHL doubled its size. They added two teams from the East (Philadelphia, Pittsburgh), two teams from the Midwest (St-Louis, Minnesota), and two teams from the West (Los Angeles, Oakland) in an attempt to get National...

Read more on www.hockeyfanland.com